So, I am not one to talk weight loss, but yesterday I had a very awesome wake up call.  We had a visiting nurse come to do our health assessment for our new life insurance – because we’re real adults now – and I had to jump on a scale because in all honesty, I had no idea what I weighed.

I realized that I’ve lost over FORTY POUNDS.  I’d say that in reality, this means I’ve lost twenty or twenty-five on my own, because the beginning stuff just sort of disappears.  I would like to state for the record that I attribute the 40+ pounds to my 8 1/2 pound baby and abnormally high amounts of amniotic fluid – Jessica Simpson wasn’t the only one with that problem!  I didn’t go crazy eating, but I certainly didn’t exercise nearly to the level that I had before.  I quick walk every day was about all I could handle by the end.

To put this in perspective, this is the last known photo of Pregnant Me.  At 35 weeks, you’ll notice that I had quite the belly, and still had over a month to go!

Okay, I guess this is really the last known photo of Pregnant Me.  Sweet thumbs up, girl.  You look ridiculous.  Not to mention you won’t give birth for another 36 hours or so, but that’s another post.

 

And I took these today. I am NOT one to rip off my shirt and throw that image all over the internet, but I feel like this is part of my journey, and I should document this as well.

At any rate, I have been working hard to get healthy.  I didn’t set out to be able put on a bikini, or wear a bandage mini skirt.  If it was socially acceptable, I’d wear a one piece, racerback Speedo at the beach even if I had a crazy six-pack and razor cut arms.  I’d wear a sports bra to work too (Truth: I did when I was pregnant…).  I love being fit and I try to eat healthy 97% of the time, but it’s not about a number for me.  Do my clothes fit?  Am I happy with the way I look?  Can I run up the stairs without getting winded? Yes to all three?!  It’s a great to be me!

It’s a strange thing to lose the postpartum weight quickly.   I had not idea what my body would do.  I didn’t have a goal.  Of course I had days where I wanted to curl up in a ball and just be lazy, but I know that to be a good mom, I’ve got to be alive and kickin’.  I’m still working hard.  I’ve signed up for my third half marathon, which I aim to complete in October.  My husband and I are doing this crazy DVD workout called Insanity.  It’s helpful that I happen to be married to someone who is also committed to exercising and being healthy.  He pushes me and I push him.  Hooray for sweaty love.

