Earlier today I remembered to finally drop a little post via iPhone, while simultaneously and furiously jiggling the cage-like apparatus filled with rattles over Parker’s head.  Relax, you uppity moms who think I don’t interact with my child.  I had just logged 20 minute lying underneath said cage, staring at our reflections in the mirror and talking about our adventure to TJ Maxx to buy PJs.  We’re busting out of the 0-3 month stuff, but that’s a different post…

Anyway, a comment came through for approval.  Apparently Kim, from Not My Mom’s Blog stumbled upon my blog and thought it was pretty cool.  Her blog is neat too, so you should check it out!  She nominated me for a Liebster Award.  My first thought was, holy shit, someone is actually reading this stuff.  My second thought was, can I quit my job and blog full-time now?  My third thought was, you are an idiot.

Through my research, I’ve learned that the Liebster Award is an honor that established Mommy Bloggers bestow upon up and coming bloggers, like me!  “Liebster” means beloved  in German.  I don’t think anyone has ever called me his beloved, so I’m flattered.  The award can only be given to people with less than 200 followers, and at last tally, this blog was at a whopping nine.  NBD.

There are some rules to this Liebster Award.  Since I’ll always be a summer camp kid at heart, and I’m using the hour that Parker is napping I’m using the time after Parker has gone to bed for the evening to finish another blog post instead of doing laundry, of course I’m going to follow through.

The rules:

  1. Post 11 random facts about yourself.
  2. Choose 11 deserving bloggers and tag them in your post.
  3. Tell them you’ve tagged them.
  4. Answer 11 questions the tagger has asked you, and give 11 questions to the people you’ve tagged.
  5. No tag backs.

Eleven Random Facts:

  1. I have lived in Connecticut for my entire life.  The first 22 years were spent in the same town where my parents were born and raised as well.
  2. Although I have a baby, I have never, ever taken a home pregnancy test.
  3. I always put neon yellow laces on my sneakers.  They make me run super fast, duh.
  4. I am the person who uses exact LOOSE change at the drive thru.
  5. I hate when people are rude to cashiers.  They’re paying the bills too, lady!  Use your coupon elsewhere if it’s that difficult.
  6. I got Facebook in the year that it was created, and I refuse to use it to make people feel bad for me by writing things like, “Worst day ever.  Sadface. Parker has an ear infection and a temperature. Double Sadface.”
  7. I like to believe the high school students I teach hate me because I’m strict, but I think they actually kind of like me.
  8. I have never finished an entire 20 ounce bottle of Coke, but I always buy them.
  9. I swallow my gum. Often.
  10. My brother is part of the 1%.  He’s in the United States Army.
  11. I have rewritten this list at least five times already.

The Eleven Qs I need to Answer:

  1. What is your most disastrous parenting moment (so far)?  The first week was worse than awful. I was moments away from driving Parker back to the hospital and leaving a note safety pinned to my terrible swaddling job that read, “I’ve changed my mind.  Thanks for the epidural though.”
  2. Which disciplinary actions get the most results with your child? (Seriously, looking for ideas…)  Tough one to answer since he’s 11 weeks old… but as a teacher, I guess I’d go with catching the good things that he does and praising them.  Of course this will go out the window when he actually does something that I need to discipline I’m sure.
  3. What do you see other parents struggle with that’s a breeze for you?  Keeping calm.  Aside from crying in the beginning because I was in pain, I think I’ve done a phenomenal job of keeping it together when everything seems to be falling apart.  If you knew me, you’d know that this is NOT my usual M.O.
  4. What’s your favorite HGTV show?  Design Star.  Love the White Room Challenge.
  5. Favorite store to blow an afternoon in?  If I didn’t say Target, I wouldn’t be female, human or American.
  6. Favorite TV show you’re embarrassed to admit you watch?  Sixteen And Pregnant.  Go ‘head, judge.
  7. What’s your biggest concern about the future and your kid(s)?  I hope my children are polite when in public. They will know how to handle themselves in restaurants, the mall, and of course, Target.  The phrases, “please,” “thank you,” and “you’re welcome” will not be foreign or reserved for grandparents only.
  8. Starbucks or Coffee Bean?  I like Starbucks, but here in New England, we have a Dunkin Donuts on every street corner.  It’s terrible, but I drink it often.
  9. Favorite snack for your kid that you secretly devour yourself?  I do not snack on formula.  I haven’t hit rock bottom yet.
  10. Funniest question your child has asked you?  Parker can’t speak yet, but judging by the way he smiles at me, I think he’s usually asking, “Mother, why did Father marry such a ridiculous woman?” (He’s going to be polite, remember?)
  11. What’s the best part about blogging? I feel like I am speaking for others who might not think it’s okay to talk about the fact that although being a mom is pretty awesome, there are some really crappy things about raising an infant.  I may seem negative at times, but the fact is, everyone talks about the good stuff.  Nobody ever talks about the bad stuff!

Some Pretty Sweet Blogs:

I’m gonna be honest, it’s really difficult for me to find eleven blogs that are new and don’t already have hundreds of followers.  I hope the Liebster Police doesn’t frown upon my lack of eleven up-and-coming blogs. I really did Google my face off, I swear!

Eleven Questions to be answered by those who choose to accept the award:

  1. When was the last time you sat down and at an entire meal without getting up halfway through?
  2. Did you know the gender of your child(ren) going into delivery?
  3. What do you do on your “time off” from mommying?
  4. If you could redesign one room in your home, which one would it be?
  5. Are you invested (or interested, even) in your child’s education?
  6. Does your parenting style resemble your own mother’s?
  7. If I brough you to Taco Bell, would you order something?  What would it be?
  8. Do you think there are some things that Mommy just understands a little better than Daddy?
  9. Where is the oddest place you have left your child sleeping?
  10. How many photos do you think you’ve taken of your children?
  11. What is the last book you read?

So there it is.  I swore I’d never again participate in another chain letter after licking too many envelopes in fourth grade, but I guess I am a liar after all!

