Week two has already come.  Parker has gotten himself up to a healthy 9 pounds.  He eats like a champion, although he has no consistency, and grazes like a cow rather than eating on a normal schedule.  Today was our first day without Matt.  We did okay, and I think both of us will live to tell about it.

Two weeks into motherhood, I have learned the following:

  1. If I start a blog post at 8 AM, I probably won’t finish it until 2 PM.
  2. Despite the fact that I am not a nurturing person by nature, I have found that motherhood has actually come naturally to me.  The fact that this baby is so freakin’ cute may also have something to do with it.
  3. Bring the diaper bag into the pediatrician’s office, so that you don’t have to run out to the car like a crazy person when the baby decides he can’t hold it any longer.
  4. I may never again eat breakfast that requires a utensil.  I found this blog on Pinterest that has instructions for making pre-frozen smoothie packs.  I added protein powder and flaxseed to make it more filling and give me some extra vitamins.  It seems to hold me over until the afternoon when I realize I haven’t eaten any solid food yet.
  5. I need to purchase a Moby Wrap.  This isn’t because I subscribe to the world of attachment parenting and nursing my son until he goes to preschool, but rather because Parker refuses to relax unless he is smushed up against my chest.  We also generally need to be in motion as well.  I supposed this has to do with his former home of 9 months.  I ordered one today, and even paid the extra few bucks to get it here in two days instead of ten. I’ll try anything.
  6. All you have to do to get out of cooking dinner for a few weeks is have a baby.  Luckily, when the visitors slowly fade away, I was smart enough – okay, my sister was smart enough to tell me – to freeze about two months worth of dinners.  I vow never to become the family that eats take-out food every night simply because I’m tired.  I’m also getting some great use out of the FoodSaver that we received as a wedding gift.

Two weeks after delivery, I’m feeling much more like my former self.  I underestimated how much I would still love my elastic-waist maternity pants after giving birth.  I never kidded myself into thinking I would walk out of that hospital in my pre-pregnancy pants, but I never even thought of the fact that if I didn’t wear those, I’d be stuck wearing sweatpants for months.  No thanks.  Luckily, the maxi dress is in still, so I can get bohemian this summer and not have to be the girl who wears jeans when it’s 100 degrees out!

